Hier zur deutschen Version wechseln
dismiss
back to overview
22.10.2022 21:00 Klubbar Lesung Stream

Hendrik Otremba: “Benito”

An event of “Literatur zur Zeit

Moderation: Wolfgang Frömberg

In 1995, eleven-year-old Cherubim takes his Boy Scout troop on a three-week canoe trip down a West German river. They all have resonant ride names like butt, mouse, and fly killer. Their leader, a few years older than them, they call chief. The further the river carries them, the more Cherubim feels connected to the others, the more he forgets his home. There, only his newly separated parents are waiting for him anyway, the mother overwhelmed, the father depressed. He develops an increasingly obsessive interest in the blind Benito, with whom he shares one of the boats.

In haunting language, Hendrik Otremba explores what drives us beyond our own limits. Adventure narrative and artist novel in one designs
Benito
in a dense alternation between two temporal and narrative levels, a kaleidoscope of anger and intellect, action and reflection, terror and art.

“An epic about boy scouts, a blind man running amok, and the ghosts of the Federal Republic. In this existential journey through time, Hendrik Otremba tells a multi-layered story against the darkness and exhausts all the possibilities of literature.” (Arno Frank)

Hendrik Otremba, born in 1984 in Recklinghausen, is a writer, visual artist and singer with the group Messer. He also works as a lecturer in creative writing and occasionally as a curator. As a freelance journalist, he writes sporadically about music. His paintings are published and exhibited as record covers and in various magazines. In 2017, his debut novel Über uns der Schaum (Verbrecher Verlag) was published, followed by his second novel Kachelbad’s Erbe (Hoffmann und Campe) in August 2019. With Messer, he has released five albums to date, most recently No Future Dubs in 2021. He lives in Berlin.



The livestream subscriptions

Choose a subscription to watch the livestreams

Year
pass

Watch the current streams for 365 days (at least 60 new livestreams).

Plus: Access to all the streams in the archive

One day pass

valid 24 hours, starting when you pay.
Accesss to the current stream

Switch to english version here
ausblenden
Nächster livestream: Ralph Moore Quartett
ausblenden
zurück zur Übersicht
22.10.2022 21:00 Klubbar Lesung Stream

Hendrik Otremba: »Benito«

Eine Veranstaltung von »Literatur zur Zeit«

Moderation: Wolfgang Frömberg

1995 fährt der elfjährige Cherubim mit seiner Pfadfindergruppe auf eine dreiwöchige Kanufahrt einen westdeutschen Fluss entlang. Sie alle tragen klingende Fahrtennamen wie Kippe, Maus und Fliegentöter. Ihren Anführer, ein paar Jahre älter als sie, nennen sie Häuptling. Je weiter der Fluss sie trägt, desto verbundener fühlt sich Cherubim den anderen, desto mehr vergisst er sein Zuhause. Dort warten ohnehin nur seine frisch getrennten Eltern auf ihn, die Mutter überfordert, der Vater depressiv. Für den blinden Benito, mit dem er sich eines der Boote teilt, entwickelt er ein zunehmend obsessives Interesse.

In eindringlicher Sprache erforscht Hendrik Otremba, was uns über unsere eigenen Grenzen treibt. Abenteuererzählung und Künstlerroman in einem entwirft Benito im dichten Wechsel zwischen zwei Zeit- und Erzählebenen ein Kaleidoskop aus Zorn und Intellekt, Aktion und Reflexion, Terror und Kunst.

»Ein Epos über Pfadfinder, einen blinden Amokläufer und die Gespenster der Bundesrepublik. Vielschichtig erzählt Hendrik Otremba in dieser existenziellen Zeitreise gegen die Dunkelheit an und reizt dabei alle Möglichkeiten der Literatur aus.« (Arno Frank)

Hendrik Otremba, geboren 1984 in Recklinghausen, ist Schriftsteller, bildender Künstler und Sänger der Gruppe Messer, außerdem arbeitet er als Dozent für kreatives Schreiben und gelegentlich als Kurator. Als freier Journalist schreibt er sporadisch über Musik. Seine Malereien werden als Plattencover und in verschiedenen Magazinen veröffentlicht und ausgestellt. 2017 ist sein Debütroman Über uns der Schaum (Verbrecher Verlag) erschienen, im August 2019 folgte sein zweiter Roman Kachelbads Erbe (Hoffmann und Campe). Mit Messer hat er bisher fünf Alben veröffentlicht, zuletzt 2021 No Future Dubs. Er lebt in Berlin.



Das Live Abo Trio

Wähle ein Abonnement, um unsere Konzerte online zu besuchen:

Jahresabo

Schaue 365 Tage die aktuellen Streams (mind. 60 neue).

Plus: Zugang zu allen Streams im Archiv

Tagesabo

24 Stunden Gültigkeit ab dem Moment der Bezahlung.
Zugriff auf den aktuellen Stream