Hier zur deutschen Version wechseln
dismiss
back to overview
14.10.2022 20:30 Klubbar Konzert

Popanz: Meskerem Mees

“Meskerem Mees enchants from the moment she opens her mouth” Consequence of Sound (USA).

Even the tone-setting Consequence of Sound Magazine from New York wrote: as soon as Meskerem Mees starts singing, something magical happens. With just her voice, an acoustic guitar and the cello of fellow musician Febe Lazou, she lets her songs blossom into ravishing gems of folk pop.

Her dream debut with the enchanting song ‘Joe’ and also the following singles ‘Seasons Shift’ and ‘Astronaut’ cemented her status as a top talent in a flash. A status that has already brought them to the Reeperbahnfestival in Hamburg, Immergut or Haldern Pop Festival, among others, and onto the stage of the prestigious Montreux Jazz Festival on Lake Geneva.

And now ‘Julius’ is here, a debut album to be really proud of. The melodies and choruses of the 13 songs catch the ear immediately and with unerring words – sometimes to-the-point, sometimes poetic – Meskerem captivates everyone.

Music that, had it been written half a century ago, could just as well have been penned by a Bob Dylan or a Joni Mitchell. Reduced, “less is more” and yet hypnotic songs that can touch deeply and do not push you down despite all the melancholy.
A bit like Nick Drake you think sometimes…and then you slowly realize: Meskerem Mees is something very special, unique, maybe especially in these fast moving, noisy, hectic times.

The livestream subscriptions

Choose a subscription to watch the livestreams

Year
pass

Watch the current streams for 365 days (at least 60 new livestreams).

Plus: Access to all the streams in the archive

One day pass

valid 24 hours, starting when you pay.
Accesss to the current stream

Switch to english version here
ausblenden
zurück zur Übersicht
14.10.2022 20:30 Klubbar Konzert

Popanz: Meskerem Mees

“Meskerem Mees enchants from the moment she opens her mouth” Consequence of Sound (USA)

Selbst das tonangebende Consequence of Sound Magazine aus New York schrieb: sobald Meskerem Mees zu singen beginnt, geschieht etwas Magisches. Mit gerade mal ihrer Stimme, einer akustischen Gitarre und dem Cello von Mitstreiterin Febe Lazou lässt sie ihre Songs zu hinreißenden Perlen des Folkpop aufblühen.

Ihr Traumdebüt mit dem verzaubernden Song ‚Joe‘ und auch die nachfolgenden Singles ‚Seasons Shift‘ und ‚Astronaut‘ zementierten blitzschnell ihren Status eines Toptalents. Ein Status, der sie unter anderem bereits nach zum Reeperbahnfestival in Hamburg, Immergut oder Haldern Pop Festival und auf die Bühne des prestigeträchtigen Montreux Jazz Festival am Genfer See gebracht hat.

Und jetzt ist ‚Julius‘ da, ein Debütalbum, auf das man richtig stolz sein kann. Die Melodien und Refrains der 13 Songs gehen sofort ins Ohr und mit treffsicheren Worten – mal to-the-point, mal poetisch – zieht Meskerem jeden in den Bann.

Musik die, wäre sie vor einem halben Jahrhundert geschrieben worden, ebenso gut aus der Feder von einem Bob Dylan oder einer Joni Mitchell hätte stammen können. Reduzierte, „less ist more“ und doch hypnotische Songs, die tief berühren können und eine trotz aller Melancholie nicht runterdrücken.
Ein bisschen wie Nick Drake denkt man manchmal…und dann wird einem langsam klar: Meskerem Mees ist was ganz besonderes, einmaliges, vielleicht gerade in dieser schnelllebigen, lauten, hektischen Zeit.

Das Live Abo Trio

Wähle ein Abonnement, um unsere Konzerte online zu besuchen:

Jahresabo

Schaue 365 Tage die aktuellen Streams (mind. 60 neue).

Plus: Zugang zu allen Streams im Archiv

Tagesabo

24 Stunden Gültigkeit ab dem Moment der Bezahlung.
Zugriff auf den aktuellen Stream